Skip to content

Designing Libraries - The gateway to better library design

toolkit

Architecture and library building databases

  • ADAM, the Art, Design, Architecture & Media Information Gateway (UK)
    Some useful architectural resources. NB: The ADAM gateway will be superceded by the forthcoming Arts and Creative Industries (ACI) Hub. Until the new hub is up and running, the ADAM gateway will still be a useable resource and its links checked to retain currency, but all areas of the site other than the search engine are now closed. [link]
  • Architecture.com (UK)
    Find an architect; look at images of great buildings; get advice on fees and contracts: all about architecture, run by the Royal Institute of British Architects. [link]
  • architecture centre network (UK)
    The Architecture Centre Network coordinates, supports and advances the work of architecture and related centres. Their links page is extensive, and they have a list of UK Architecture Centres. [link]
  • Architect Search (UK)
    An online resource of images and information that helps you find the right architect for your project. Although focusing on residential users, you can also search for non-residential projects. [link]
  • Architecture Link (UK)
    An easy-to-use site, with book reviews, details of building tours and architecture centres and 50 London buildings (including 2 libraries) looked at in details - looking at the aesthetic quality of the design, innovation in construction and materials, appropriateness to the location etc. as well as the controversies and challenges. [link]
  • Building Bank (UK)
    The Building Bank, run by The Architects' Journal, contains information on hundreds of buildings and projects old and new. [link]
  • The Great Buildings Collection (Int.)
    Documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, web links etc. The library list is predominantly but not exclusively US based. [link]
  • The Guardian's Great Modern Buildings (Int.)
    Not libraries, but an interesting series on great modern buildings around the world. [link]
  • International Architecture Database (Int.)
    Database of architects and buildings from past to present worldwide, with over 13000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners, focusing on the architecture of the 20th century. [link]
  • Looking at Buildings (UK)
    An interesting site that gives guides to understanding architecture, tools and study aids, and a detailed look at the buildings of seven English cities. An educational resource created by the Pevsner Architectural Guides [link]
  • NEW MIMOA: Europe’s Modern Architecture Guide (Int.)
    Mimoa is designed for those interested in architecture to find out more about Europe's buildings and help plan a visit, allowing users to publish projects, post comments and define favorites. Useful even if you don't leave your chair to view images and brief details of interesting European buildings - currently contains over 900 projects including libraries, museums and universities. [link]
  • Planning Architecture Design Database Ireland (PADDI) (Ireland)
    Information on all aspects of the built environment and environmental planning in Ireland, north and south. Covers the 12th century to the present, but the majority of items date from the mid 20th century onwards. [link]
  • Public Library Geographic Database (USA)
    A database with the locations of America’s 16,000 public libraries, population characteristics from the US Census that best describe people that use libraries, and library use statistics from the National Center for Educational Statistics [link]
  • SCONUL Academic Library Building Projects Database (UK)
    This database has now been merged with the Designing Libraries database and can be searched from our search page. [link]
  • Wales on the Web: Architecture: Public Structures (Wales)
    A new section of the portal, so currently contains very little. Can be used as a starting point for related sections such as Architecture; Construction Industry and Production, not all of which are Welsh-specific. The site also contains a Library and Information Science section. [link]

Return to Main Menu